On October 20, 2017, the following criteria changes were approved for implementation by the ABET commission area delegations for the following commissions:


The Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission (ANSAC) Program Criteria for Master’s Level Construction Management and Similarly Named programs was approved for implementation in the 2018 – 19 cycle.

Master’s Level Construction Management Program Criteria


The Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) General Criteria 3 & 5 and Program Criteria for Computer Science, Information Technology and Information Systems were approved for implementation. For the 2018 – 2019 cycle ONLY institutions will have a choice to have their programs reviewed against the existing CAC Criteria (Version 1.0) or the newly approved CAC Criteria (Version 2.0).  The newly approved criteria will be mandatory for all programs in the 2019 – 2020 cycle.

CAC General and Program Criteria (Version 1.0)

CAC General and Program Criteria (Version 2.0)

Program Criteria for Cybersecurity and Similarly Named Computing Programs is available for public review and comment through June 15, 2018.

DRAFT Cybersecurity Program Criteria and Comment Box

Learn more >


The Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) General Criteria 3 & 5 for Baccalaureate Level Programs was approved for implementation in the 2019 – 2020 Cycle.

The changed sections are:

  • The Introduction and definitions that apply to all parts of the criteria
  • Criteria 3, Student Outcomes
  • Criteria 5, Curriculum

EAC General Criteria Revisions 3 & 5

All general reviews conducted in the 2019 – 2020 Cycle and beyond will be evaluated relative to these new criteria.  Programs scheduled for a general review in 2019 -2020 may begin the transition as soon as possible. Programs scheduled for review in the 2018 – 2019 cycle should not begin transitioning prior to that review.