Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity

The Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity is presented to recognize U.S.-based educational units, individuals, associations, and firms for extraordinary success in achieving diversity and inclusiveness or for facilitating diversity and inclusiveness in the technological segments of our society.

About Claire L. Felbinger, Ph.D.

Claire L. Felbinger, former Chair of American University’s Masters of Public Administration program, was a Public Member of the ABET Board of Directors from 1998 to 2004. The Public Member Committee, under her leadership, was the first to bring ABET’s diversity issue formally to the attention of the Board.

The Public Member Committee’s work was a key impetus for many of the diversity initiatives we have carried out over years. These include issuing a formal policy statement on diversity, collecting and publishing diversity statistics on our volunteer pool, and even creating this diversity award.

Dr. Felbinger passed away suddenly in her home on May 28, 2008. A few months later, the award that she helped to institute was renamed in her honor.

Make a nomination>

See the full list of Felbinger Award for Diversity recipients.


Welcome to the new ABET website. We hope you enjoy your experience. We are making it better everyday.