Linton E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award


Linton E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award

The Linton E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award honors an
individual whose rare commitment and enduring impact has made ABET a better organization.

For this reason, a Grinter Award recipient may not be chosen every year, only when the discernable influence of one ABET Expert’s tenure warrants singular recognition. Their achievements are not year-to-year, they span decades and have shaped the course of our work.

The award is our highest honor and the contributions of its
recipients define our organization.

Linton E. Grinter

Linton E. Grinter

In 1972, Dr. Linton E. Grinter received the first Distinguished Service Award from ABET’s predecessor, the Engineer’s Council for Professional Development (ECPD). To convey the lasting impact that his achievements would have, the award was immediately renamed in his honor.

Dr. Grinter was an outstanding leader, as a member of ECPD and as an academic. Among his many achievements, he chaired the committees that produced three reports that have had major effects on engineering education: (1) the 1945 Manual of Graduate Study in Engineering; (2) the groundbreaking 1955 Report of the Committee on Evaluation of Engineering Education, now known as “The Grinter Report” —a major work in the development of engineering curricula that outlines specific objectives for both the technical and humanities areas of study necessary for future engineers; and (3) the 1972 Report on Engineering Technology Education.

His professional career spanned over 50 years and included many awards and honors from his peers. From 1963-1967, Dr. Grinter served as Vice President and President of the ECPD. His powerful insight into the future of the engineering profession was not merely felt by the ECPD and the engineering education of his time; his enduring legacy continues to shape our work throughout technical education and across the globe.

Recipients of the Linton E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award are ABET Experts who follow in Grinter’s footsteps, surpassing the highest expectations of effort and commitment. It is our organization’s highest honor.

The Nomination Kit

Download the Nomination Kit (PDF) >

The Deadline for nominations is May 31.

Important: All Nominations for the 2017 ABET Awards Gala are closed.

* Only complete nominations with references will be accepted.



David K. Holger (2017)

M. Dayne Aldridge (2016)

Joseph L. Sussman (2015)

Larry A. Kaye (2014)

Robert A. Herrick (2013)

Stuart H. Zweben (2012)

A. Joseph Turner (2011)

Allen I. Ormsbee (2010)

George D. Peterson (2009)

Richard C. Seagrave (2008)

Jerry R. Yeargan (2006)

Lee W. Saperstein (2004)

Leroy S. “Skip” Fletcher (2002)

Edwin C. Jones, Jr. (2001)

Winfred M. Phillips (2000)

Richard P. D’Onofrio (1999)

Albert T. Kersich (1998)

Robert R. Furgason (1996)

Stanley M. Brodsky (1995)

Leslie F. Benmark (1994)

John W. Prados (1993)

Edward W. Ernst (1992)

Irene C. Peden (1991)

William Sangster (1990)

Richard E. Grace (1989)

Richard Ungrodt (1988)

James H. Mulligan, Jr. (1987)

Paul F. Allmendinger (1986)

Leland J. Walker (1985)

George Burnet (1984)

Richard G. Cunningham (1983)

William H. Corcoran (1982)

Gene M. Nordby (1982)

Robert B. Beckmann (1980)

Ernst Weber (1978)

M.R. Lohmann (1977)

William Phelps Kimball (1976)

R. Harold Hazen (1975)

William L. Everitt (1973)

Linton E. Grinter (1972)