Leaders in STEM Education to be Honored at 2017 ABET Awards Gala


BALTIMORE—ABET has announced the names of the 2017 ABET award recipients.

Every year ABET selects individuals, institutions and organizations to receive one of its awards: The Linton E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award, the ABET Fellow Award, the Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity and the ABET Innovation Award.

“We are thrilled to honor these thought-leaders with our four ABET awards. Each of these recipients has put in a tremendous amount of time and effort into promoting and improving the quality of STEM education, and we are very thankful for their service and commitment to excellence in higher education. We are proud to have them as part of the ABET family,” says Michael Milligan, the ABET executive director and CEO.

This year, Dr. David Holger will receive the Linton E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award; Dr. David Beasley, Dr. Harold Grossman, Dr. John Orr, Dr. Jamie Rogers and Dr. John Sammarco will each receive the ABET Fellow Award; Dr. Emily Allen and Dr. Karen Thole will each receive the Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity; and the Iron Range Engineering and Twin Cities Engineering programs from Minnesota State University, Mankato will receive the ABET Innovation Award.

ABET will confer the awards at the ABET Awards Gala in Baltimore on Friday, October 20 at the Hyatt Regency Baltimore.

For more information about each of the ABET Awards, visit http://www.abet.org/about-abet/awards/


About ABET:

ABET is a forward-thinking, purpose-driven organization that accredits college and university programs in the disciplines of applied and natural science, computing, engineering and engineering technology at the associate, bachelor and master degree levels. With ABET accreditation, students, employers and the society we serve can be confident that a program meets the quality standards that produce graduates prepared to enter a global workforce.

As of October 1, 2016, ABET accredits over 3,700 programs at 752 institutions in 30 countries.

More information about ABET, its member societies and the accreditation criteria used to evaluate programs can be found at www.abet.org