Board Votes Rogers ABET President-Elect, Lightner to Become ABET Secretary

April 1, 2013

Baltimore, MD - On March 23, the ABET Board of Directors elected K.J. (Jamie) Rogers, Ph.D., P.E., as its 2013-14 President-Elect and Michael R. Lightner, Ph.D., as its next Secretary. Both Rogers and Lightner will be inaugurated at the fall 2013 ABET Board of Directors Meeting in October.

Jamie Rogers 2013-14 President-Elect K.J. (Jamie) Rogers, Ph.D., P.E., has years of experience as an ABET volunteer. She has been a Representative Director from the Institute of Industrial Engineers (IIE) on the ABET Board of Directors since 2008 and has served on both the Board's Finance Committee and its Governance Task Force during that time. Prior to that, she was a member of ABET's International Activities Council (INTAC), now called the Global Council, and the Accreditation Council Training Committee, where she helped design and implement transformative change in program evaluator training. Rogers was a member of the Engineering Accreditation Council (EAC) from 1999 to 2004, after beginning her ABET service as an evaluator for industrial engineering programs in 1991.

Currently, Rogers is Professor and Associate Chair of Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Engineering at The University of Texas at Arlington. In addition, she serves on the UT System – Systems Engineering in Healthcare Steering Committee, whose mission is to apply systems engineering tools and methods to revolutionize healthcare operations across The University of Texas System.

Michael LightnerMichael R. Lightner, Ph.D., will become ABET Secretary. Lightner has represented IEEE (formerly the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) on the ABET Board of Directors since 2008. In addition, he chairs the Board's Audit Committee and is a member of the Governance Task Group.

Lightner is currently Professor and Chair of Electrical, Computer, and Energy Engineering at the University of Colorado, Boulder, and has served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs for the College of Engineering and Applied Science. He is Co-Director of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR)-funded Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center for Advancing Cognitive Technologies, having spent the last 10 years focused on technology to assist the cognitively impaired.

In addition to Rogers and Lightner, the following individuals will serve as officers on the ABET Board of Directors during the 2013-14 term:

Monte PhillipsMonte L. Phillips, Ph.D., P.E., will become 2013-14 ABET President. Phillips has been involved in accreditation for more than 30 years as a faculty member in civil engineering programs and as an ABET volunteer. Before becoming 2012-13 President-Elect, he spent seven years as the Representative Director from the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) on the ABET Board of Directors. Phillips is an Emeritus Professor of Civil Engineering at the University of North Dakota.

Craig MusselmanCraig N. Musselman, P.E., will continue his two-year term as ABET Treasurer. Previously, Musselman was the Representative Director from the National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE) on the ABET Board of Directors for four years, as well as a member of the ABET Finance Committee for two years. He has 38 years of experience in planning, design, and construction administration of public works projects and is the Founder, President, and General Manager of CMA Engineers, Inc., a 25-person civil and environmental consulting engineering firm based in Portsmouth, NH.

Karan Watson2Karan Watson, Ph.D., P.E., will become Past President. Watson has been involved with ABET accreditation for more than 20 years and is currently ABET President-Elect. Previously, she represented the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) on the ABET Board of Directors for six years. At present, Watson is the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs at Texas A&M University.

The 2013-14 leadership will be inaugurated during the fall 2013 ABET Board of Directors meeting, which will be held in Baltimore on Saturday, October 26, 2013.

About ABET

ABET, the recognized accreditor for college and university programs in applied science, computing, engineering, and technology, is a federation of 32 professional and technical societies representing these fields. Among the most respected accreditation organizations in the U.S., ABET has provided leadership and quality assurance in higher education for 80 years.

ABET currently accredits over 3,200 programs at more than 670 colleges and universities worldwide. More than 2,000 dedicated volunteers participate annually in ABET activities. ABET also provides leadership internationally through workshops, memoranda of understanding, and mutual recognition agreements, such as the Washington Accord. ABET is recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.

ABET Facts

Accredited Programs at Women’s Colleges

Smith College was the first women's college to have an ABET-accredited program. Its engineering science program has been accredited since 2003.