How to Choose the Correct Accreditation Commission

Please review the descriptions of the kinds of programs over which each accreditation commission has jurisdiction and choose which one applies to you. You can choose only one of the following commission on your application.

You'll find descriptions of the programs that ABET accredits in the Criteria for each ABET Accreditation Commission. Please read the Criteria for the Commission that best describes your educational and professional qualifications and choose that Commission on your application.

If you have any questions, please contact the Accreditation Department.

The Applied Science Accreditation Commission (ASAC) is responsible for two-year, four-year, and graduate academic degree programs that focus on the application of engineering principles to technical areas such as occupational environment and worker safety, and surveying.

The Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) is responsible for the review of academic degree programs in computer science, information systems, information technology, and related fields.

The Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) is responsible for academic degree programs that provide graduates with the depth and breadth of theoretical and applied knowledge needed to function as engineers.

The Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission (ETAC) is responsible for academic degree programs in engineering technology, a degree with a more applied focus, and less emphasis on theoretical and analytical courses. Persons with experience or knowledge of associate degree programs may be particularly interested in program evaluator service through ETAC.

Featured ABET Event

ABET Facts

Accreditation Outside of the U.S.

Currently, ABET accredits 420 programs at 87 institutions in 28 countries outside of the United States. These programs span computing, engineering, and engineering technology disciplines.