Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity

Claire L. Felbinger

Dr. Claire L. Felbinger

The Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity is presented to recognize U.S.-based educational units, individuals, associations, and firms for extraordinary success in achieving diversity and inclusiveness or for facilitating diversity and inclusiveness in the technological segments of our society. 

About Claire L. Felbinger, Ph.D.

Claire L. Felbinger, former Chair of American University's Masters of Public Administration program, was a Public Member of the ABET Board of Directors from 1998 to 2004. The Public Member Committee, under her leadership, was the first to bring ABET's diversity issue formally to the attention of the Board.

The Public Member Committee's work was a key impetus for many of the diversity initiatives ABET has carried out during the past decade. These include issuing a formal policy statement on diversity, collecting and publishing diversity statistics on our volunteer pool, and creating an award for individuals, institutions, and organizations that achieve or facilitate diversity in the technological segments of our society.

Dr. Felbinger passed away suddenly in her home on May 28, 2008. A few months later, the award that she helped to institute was renamed in her honor.

See the full list of Felbinger Award for Diversity recipients.


    • Nominations are accepted year-round.
    • The Nomination Form and references must be received at ABET Headquarters by May 31 annually.

Featured ABET Event

Related Links

ABET Facts

Accredited Programs at HBCUs

Howard University was the first historically black college or university to have ABET-accredited programs. ABET's predecessor, the Engineers' Council for Professional Development, accredited three engineering programs there in 1937.