ABET Innovation Award

2018 recipient Douglas Fraser (right), on behalf of Formula Hybrid Competition

About the Award

The ABET Innovation Award recognizes vision and commitment that challenge the status-quo in technical education.

It honors an individual and/or a program or an institutional team that has broken new ground by developing and implementing innovation into an ABET-accredited program.

True innovation is hard to define, but easy to identify. This award distinguishes programs that have brought a new dimension to education in areas like: curriculum development, laboratory experiences, teaching methodologies, cross-disciplinary programs, experiential learning – almost anything designed and proven to improve a student’s educational experience.

2018 Winner


Formula Hybrid Competition, founded by the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth

The annual Formula Hybrid competition challenges teams of engineering students to design and construct a fuel-efficient hybrid or electric vehicle. Student teams work throughout the academic year to design and build their cars before bringing them to the four-day competition.

Thousands of undergraduate and graduate students from institutions around the world have participated in Formula Hybrid since it was launched by the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth in 2007. The competition facilitates collaboration across disciplines, with teams comprised of computer science, mechanical and electrical engineering students.

Formula Hybrid is part of the Collegiate Design Series organized by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). Each year, volunteers from sponsors such as Fiat Chrysler, General Motors, Ford, SAE, IEEE and Toyota support the students as mentors and judges.


Award Benefits

  • Full travel and accommodations (for two) to receive the award at the 2019 ABET Awards in Baltimore, Maryland, on November 1, 2019
  • $10,000 cash prize
  • Opportunity to lead a session at the 2020 ABET Symposium in Nashville, Tennessee
  • Recipient and their work will be featured on the award page, recognized in a press release, ABET news announcement and ABET social media pages.

The Nomination Kit

The ABET Innovation Award is given to a nominee selected by their peers. To learn more about the process and criteria involved, or to nominate one of your peers, download and review the nomination kit below. The deadline for nominations is April 30th, and only complete nominations with references will be accepted.

Download Now

Past Recipients

2017: Iron Range Engineering and Twin Cities Engineering, Minnesota State University, Mankato

For educating their students in innovative ABET-accredited programs that feature trans-disciplinary thinking, industry-sponsored project-based learning, experiential learning in context, competency-based assessments and significant exposure to professionalism, design and creativity. Learn more.

2016: Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) – Robotics Engineering Program

For developing and implementing the first ABET-accredited undergraduate Robotics Engineering program in the United States. The program incorporates an innovative, project-based curriculum that integrates computer science, engineering and entrepreneurship. It is producing large numbers of successful graduates, while serving as a model for Robotics Engineering programs at other institutions. Learn more.