Three members of ABET’s Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission (ETAC) were recently honored with awards from the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE).

This award celebrates an individual that promotes partnerships or collaborations between engineering or engineering technology educators and industry to improve learning, scholarship and engagement practices within the engineering education community.

Danielson is a faculty member in the Polytechnic School of the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering at Arizona State University (ASU). Before returning to the faculty, he was an associate dean in the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering and the College of Technology and Innovation.

Michael D Johnson

Michael D. Johnson, Ph.D., received both the Frederick J. Berger Award and the National Engineering Technology Teaching Award from ASEE.

The Frederick J. Berger Award recognizes and encourages programmatic and individual excellence in engineering technology education. It is presented to both the primary implementing individual and to the engineering technology school or department that have demonstrated leadership in curriculum, scholarly contributions, innovative techniques or administration in engineering technology education. The award jointly recognizes the individual and the activity, the individual and the program, the individual and the department or the individual and the school.

The National Engineering Technology Teaching Award recognizes proven leaders who have demonstrated enhanced student learning experiences that have enabled students to excel. This award recognizes individual achievement in innovative teaching in engineering technology and/or applied engineering education, contributions to the scholarship of teaching and participation in and service to engineering technology education at the regional and national level.

Johnson is a professor in the department of engineering technology and industrial distribution at Texas A&M University; he also serves as the associate dean for inclusion and faculty success in the College of Engineering.

Ken Rennels

Ken Rennels, P.E., received ASEE’s James H. McGraw Award.

This award recognizes outstanding service in engineering technology education. It is presented to a faculty member, author or administrator who has achieved clearly discernible contributions to engineering technology education and outstanding achievement in teaching, publications, administration and/or other activities such as research or leadership in local and national institute groups.

Rennels is an associate professor emeritus in the Purdue School of Engineering and Technology, Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI).

Congratulations to these outstanding individuals on their well-deserved recognition.