We were deeply saddened to learn of Dr. Winfred “Win” Phillips’ passing on Feb. 24, 2024.  

Phillips was a champion for engineering education and was a driving force behind ABET’s international accreditation. He led the ABET International Activities Council from 1998-2002 and was later chair of the International Engineering Alliance’s Washington Accord from 2007 -2011. Through his contributions, ABET increased its impact on global STEM education through ABET program accreditation and formal patronships with many international accrediting organizations. 

While Phillips was the 1995-1996 ABET president, it was his responsibility to present Engineering Criteria 2000 to the ABET board for approval. In recognition of his efforts over decades, Phillips earned the ABET Linton E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award in 2000 for the commitment and impact he had toward making ABET a better organization. He was also named an ABET Fellow in 1993. 

Phillips held several leadership positions at the University of Florida (UF) including dean of the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, executive chief of staff, dean of The Graduate School, and senior vice president and chief operating officer for research of the Office of Research. UF established the Win Phillips Town Gown Relations Award honoring Phillips in 2022 to celebrate the connection between the university and the greater Gainesville community. 

Phillips’ son, Dr. Stephen Phillips, is also active in ABET in multiple capacities including area director for the Engineering Accreditation Commission. 

We are grateful for Phillips’ dedication to ABET and STEM education. Though his legacy will live on for decades, he will be greatly missed.