2022 ABET Awards

As an organization committed to inspiring excellence in technical education, ABET admires and applauds remarkable achievements. Each year ABET honors exceptional efforts by individuals, institutions and organizations through four awards: the Linton E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award, the ABET Fellow Award, the Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity and Inclusion and the ABET Innovation Award.

The winners will be honored at the 2022 ABET Awards Celebration, which will be held at the Marriott Waterfront in Baltimore on October 28, 2022.

This year’s award recipients are as follows:

2022 Special Recognition Award

Jeffrey L. Ray

For sustained contributions in fostering ABET’s core values, improving accreditation processes and enhancing educational experiences for students while maintaining a sense of balance and inclusion in all interactions.

2022 ABET Fellow Awards

Scott Danielson

Scott Danielson

For outstanding sustained leadership and service to ABET, its experts and accredited programs to advance the quality of engineering education both domestically and globally, especially in South East Asia.

Alice Greife

For significant contributions to ANSAC’s transformation to applied and natural science accreditation, chairing the first natural science program visit and working to develop ANSAC’s Data Science program criteria.

Kathleen A. Kramer

For significant leadership in revision of engineering accreditation criteria, including the integration of diversity, equity and inclusion, development of criteria for mechatronics and robotics, and revisions to MS/Graduate Level Criteria.

Rajendra K. Raj

For substantial contributions in advancing computing accreditation and improving relevance to industry needs, including leading efforts to establish accreditation criteria for new computing disciplines and new degree levels.

2022 Claire L. Felbinger Award for Diversity and Inclusion

Gilda A. Barabino

For outstanding action-oriented contributions advancing diversity and inclusion in technical education and healthcare through bioengineering solutions, as well as public policy leadership to transform the engineering profession.

ABET did not confer a Linton E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award or an Innovation Award in 2022.