ABET Councils

Accreditation Council

Our Accreditation Council formulates and recommends to our leadership, policies and procedures regarding accreditation activities. Its mission is to improve processes and promote uniformity across the Accreditation Commissions.


Harold Grossman
Jamie Rogers
Global Council Chair
Robert D. Soule
Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission Chair
J. Torey Nalbone
Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission Chair-Elect
Hamid Fonooni
Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission Past-Chair
Amanda Reid
Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission Staff Liaison
Donna Reese
Computing Accreditation Commission Chair
John L. Schnase
Computing Accreditation Commission Chair-Elect
James H. Aylor
Computing Accreditation Commission Past-Chair
Arthur L. Price
Computing Accreditation Commission Staff Liaison
Ann L. Kenimer
Engineering Accreditation Commission Chair
Jeffrey R. Keaton
Engineering Accreditation Commission Chair-Elect
John A. Orr
Engineering Accreditation Commission Past-Chair
M. Dayne Aldridge
Engineering Accreditation Commission Staff Liaison
Winston Erevelles
Engineering Accreditation Commission Staff Liaison
Douglas R. Bowman
Engineering Accreditation Commission Staff Liaison
Susan Conry
Engineering Accreditation Commission Staff Liaison
Scott C. Dunning
Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission Chair
James A. Lookadoo
Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission Chair-Elect
Kirk Lindstrom
Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission Past-Chair
Frank Hart
Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission Staff Liaison
Joe Sussman
Staff Liaison
Jane Emmet
Staff Liaison
Ellen L. Stokes
Staff Liaison

Academic Advisory Council

The Academic Advisory Council (AAC) provides our leadership with access to academic viewpoints on issues of accreditation involving applied and natural science, computing, engineering and engineering technology education.

It also guides our organization in matters affecting the relevant professions, reactions to proposed programs, procedures and policies as they relate to the education sector of our constituencies. The AAC also works as a communication channel between us and the academic community.

Through increased participation at all levels of our organization, AAC members develop and implement mechanisms to engage diverse audiences of the academic community in our accreditation activities.


Jeffrey L. Ray, Chair
Dean and Professor, College of Engineering and Technology
Western Carolina University
Debra Larson, Vice Chair
California State University, Chico
Emily Allen, Diversity Task Force Chair
Dean of College of Engineering, Computer Science and Technology
California State University, Los Angeles
Ron McKean
Dean of Engineering Technology
Ferris State University
Arthur Overholser
Senior Associate Dean of Engineering
Vanderbilt University
Charles Isbell
Senior Associate Dean of Computing
Georgia Institute of Technology
James Garrett, Jr.
Dean of Engineering
Carnegie Mellon University
David Tomasko
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education and Services
The Ohio State University
Ken Burbank
Chair, School of Engineering Technology
Purdue University
Keith Johnson
Chair, Engineering Technology, Surveying, and Digital Media
East Tennessee State University
James Zhang
Kettering University
Fred Barlow
Dean of Engineering
University of Alaska-Anchorage
Tim Wei
Dean of Engineering
University of Nebraska
Molly Gribb
Dean of College of Engineering, Mathematics, and Science
University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Jaime Bonilla Rios
Associate Dean for the National School of Engineering and Science
Tecnológico de Monterrey, Mexico
Ken Ball
Dean, Volgenau College of Engineering
George Mason University
Keith Bowman
Dean, College of Engineering and Information Technology
University of Maryland – Baltimore County

Global Council

The Global Council (GC) advises our Board on policies and procedures to enhance our global presence. This includes participation in new mutual recognition agreements (MRAs), memoranda of understanding (MOUs) and substantial equivalency recognition of educational programs outside of the U.S.


Jamie Rogers, Chair
Regents’ Outstanding Teacher, Professor & Associate Chair
Industrial & Mfg. Systems Engineering,
University of Texas at Arlington
Phillip J. Brown
Systems Engineering Associates
Dianne Chong
(Retired) VP of Assembly, Factory and Support Technologies,
Boeing Engineering, Operations & Technology
The Boeing Company
Steven M. Cramer
Vice-Provost for Teaching and Learning
Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
David K. Holger
(Retired) Associate Provost for Academic Programs
Dean of the Graduate College
Iowa State University
Lawrence G. Jones
(Retired) Distinguished Principal Researcher
Software Engineering Institute (SEI) of
Carnegie Mellon University
John H. Koon
John H. Koon & Associates
Environmental Engineers
Thomas A. Lenox
Executive Vice President Emeritus
American Society of Civil Engineers
Kenneth E. Martin
Professor, School of Computing
University of North Florida
Irving P. McPhail
President and Chief Executive Officer
National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering, Inc. (NACME)
Wladimir “Walt” Norko
VP of CM Professional Practice
Thomas W. Peterson
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor, and Professor
University of California-Merced
S.K. Ramesh
Dean and Professor of ECE
California State University, Northridge
College of Engineering and Computer Science
Scott Teare
New Mexico Tech/Electrical Engineering Department
Daniela Iacona,
Staff Liaison
Senior Manager-International Relations and Board Operations
Michael Milligan
Staff Liaison
Executive Director

Industry Advisory Council

The Industry Advisory Council (IAC) provides ABET leadership with the perspectives of major employers on accreditation policy issues, works with company leaders to develop channels for Program Evaluator recruitment from industry and acts as an advocate for the meaning and value of ABET accreditation to major technical employers and other key ABET stakeholders.


Ronald Hinn, Jr., Chair
Vice President, Training
Jeffrey Abell, Vice-Chair
Engineering Group Manager
General Motors Company
Charles Menke, Past-Chair
Machine Development Manager
Caterpillar, Inc.
Suzanne M. Beckstoffer
(Retired) Chief Engineer
Newport News Shipbuilding
Craig Berry
Senior Vice President & Chief Information Officer
Siemens PLM Software
Edward Calusinski
IBM Fellow and Vice President of Technology
Amine Chigani
Chief Technology Officer & Vice President of Engineering
Sentient Science
Michael Creed
Chairman of the Board
McKim & Creed
Michael Foss
Logistics Optimization, Compliance and Controls
Amazon Transportation Services
Wahid Hermina
Senior Manager, Materials Aging and Reliability
Sandia National Laboratories
Richard Hope
Senior Vice President, Water Technical Practice Leader
Navid Jam
Mandiant, a FireEye Company
Larry McCallister
Chief, Engineering
US Army Corps of Engineering
Jon D. Ness
President, Director of Engineering
RFA Engineering
Anand Raman
Vice President, Technology and Operations
Climax Molybdenum Co.
Garry Roedler
Engineering Outreach Manager
Lockheed Martin Corporate Engineering
James Ruddell
Vice President
WSP/Parsons Brinckerhoff
Brian Ruestow
Sales Director-Americas
Norton Pulpstone
Janice Zdankus
Vice President, Customer Experience & Quality Knowledge Management
Hewlett-Packard Company
Joe Sussman
Staff Liaison
Chief Accreditation Officer, Chief Information Officer