Michael K. J. Milligan

Executive Director,
Chief Executive Officer

Michael K. J. Milligan is the Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of ABET, the global accreditor of over 4,000 college and university programs in applied and natural science, computing, engineering and engineering technology.

Prior to joining ABET in 2009, Milligan was a systems director at the Aerospace Corporation, leading a team at the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center developing the next generation environmental satellites for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Milligan served over 24 years as a career U.S. Air Force officer working in operations, education, international research and development. During his USAF career, he served as an associate professor and deputy department head in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado.

Milligan earned his Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin, his M.S.E. from the University of Massachusetts at Lowell, and his B.S. from Michigan State University — all in electrical engineering. He also earned an M.B.A. from Western New England College, is a registered Professional Engineer (PE) in Colorado and Maryland, and a Certified Association Executive (CAE).

Milligan is also a member of the Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society, IEEE Eta Kappa Nu Electrical and Computer Engineering Honor Society, and a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

William J. Wepfer

ABET President

William Wepfer served as the Eugene C. Gwaltney Jr. School Chair and Professor in the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering at Georgia Tech from 2008 to 2018. Wepfer’s research covered the areas of thermal systems, heat transfer and thermodynamics. Wepfer is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), ABET and the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) and a member of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE).

He was a member of the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) of ABET for 12 years and served as Chair of the EAC during the 2014-15 accreditation cycle. Wepfer served on the Board of Governors of ASME (2016-19) and represents ASME on the ABET Board of Delegates. He has served departmental advisory boards at Pennsylvania State University, Johns Hopkins University, University of Wisconsin-Madison and Marquette University. After 38 years of service, Wepfer retired from Georgia Tech on April 1, 2018, and holds the title of Professor Emeritus. He resides in Atlanta, Georgia, with his wife, Lynne.


S. K. Ramesh


S. K. Ramesh is a professor of electrical and computer engineering and the director and lead principal investigator of the AIMS2 Program supported by a multi-year grant from the U.S. Department of Education’s HSI- STEM program. AIMS2 has received several national and international awards for improving student success with high impact practices including undergraduate research and peer mentoring. It was selected as the 2019 baccalaureate program of the year and named the 2019 Example of Excelencia by Excelencia in Education. Ramesh served as dean of CSUN’s College of Engineering and Computer Science from 2006 to 2017, where he established several innovative programs focusing on renewable energy, assistive technology and advanced manufacturing. Prior to joining CSUN, he was professor of electrical and electronic engineering at California State University, Sacramento, where he served as the department chair from 1994 to 2006.

He served on the ABET Board of Directors as the Director of the Engineering Area Delegation and was a member of ABET’s Inclusion, Diversity and Equity Advisory Council. Additionally, Ramesh is an experienced IEEE Program Evaluator (PEV) and has performed several ABET accreditation visits in the U.S. and internationally. Ramesh has been an active IEEE volunteer for 38 years and served on several Boards, including the IEEE Board of Directors, IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB), the IEEE-HKN Board of Governors, IEEE Publications Services and Products Board (PSPB), IEEE Awards Board (AB) and the ABET Board of Delegates. Key leadership roles include his service as the 2016-2017 IEEE Vice President of Educational Activities and the 2016 IEEE-HKN President (Electrical Engineering Honor Society).

His many recognitions include the John Guarrera Engineering Educator of the Year, William Johnson International award for leadership and contributions to the profession and the IEEE Region 6 Community Service award. Ramesh’s professional interests are in fiber optic communications, and he received the BE (Honors) degree from Regional Engineering College, Tiruchirappalli (REC, Trichy) and now NITT, in 1981, and the MSEE and Ph.D. degrees from Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, in 1983  and 1986, respectively. Ramesh was elevated to the grade of IEEE Fellow in 2015 “for contributions to entrepreneurship in engineering education.”

Dianne Chong

Past President

Dianne Chong was the vice president in the Boeing Research and Technology organization in the Boeing Engineering, Operations & Technology organization. In this position, she led special projects that impacted processes and program integration for the Boeing Enterprise. Prior to this, Chong was the vice president of materials, manufacturing, structures and support in the Boeing Engineering, Operations & Technology organization. In that role, she led the organization responsible for development and support of manufacturing processes and program integration for the Boeing Enterprise.

Dr. Chong was elected to the National Academy of Engineering and the Washington State Academy of Science in 2017. She currently serves on the National Academies’ Gordon Prize committee and the steering committee for EngineerGirl. Chong is also serving on the ABET Board of Directors where she represents engineering. In that capacity, she leads the Engineering Area Delegation and supports the Engineering Area Commission. Chong is a member of TMS, AIAA, ASM International, SME, SWE, Beta Gamma Sigma, and Tau Beta Pi. She has served on the board of trustees, is a fellow of ASM International, and in 2007-08, was elected as the first female president of ASM International. She is currently the immediate past-chair of the ASM Women in Materials Engineering Committee and serves on the ASM Action in Education Team. Chong is currently serving as treasurer of the SME, sits on the Board of Directors and is a fellow of SME. She also serves on SME’s accreditation committee and the AerDef executive committee.

She has been recognized for managerial achievements and as a diversity change agent. Chong was also recognized as an outstanding alumna of University of Illinois in 2006 and is the recipient of numerous technical and diversity awards. Chong has also supported National efforts by leading teams for NAE studies on manufacturing and through her service on the National Materials Advisory Board and the Defense Materials, Manufacturing, and Infrastructure group. Chong received her bachelor’s degrees in biology and psychology from the University of Illinois. She also earned master’s degrees in physiology and metallurgical engineering. In 1986, Chong received her doctorate in metallurgical engineering from the University of Illinois. She also completed an executive master of manufacturing management at Washington University.